2019 Kolcum Award

About the Kolcum Award

The National Space Club Florida Committee annually recognizes area representatives of the news media and communications professionals for excellence in telling the space story along Florida’s Space Coast and throughout the world. The award is named in honor of Harry Kolcum, the former managing editor of Aviation Week & Space Technology, who was Cape Bureau Chief from 1980 – 1993, prior to his death in 1994. Kolcum was a founding member of the National Space Club Florida Committee.

2019 Kolcum Honorees

Ben Cooper

Originally from NYC, Ben has seen and photographed 214 launches to date for over 20 years. He attended Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University majoring in aerospace engineering, but his skill and love of photograpy got him a job on NASA’s photo team. Since then, Ben has enjoyed much success photographing for Spaceflight Now, Aviation Week, and others, plus NASA and taking many of the official company photos of Cape launches in the last decade. His first book, Launch Photography, was published this year! Ben wishes to thank his lovely wife Katie and his parents for all their support over the years.



Julie Arnold

Julie spent the first decade of her career in communication for the US Marine Corps. Her foray into aerospace began when she joined Griffin Communications Group. In this role she worked with notable clients such as USA, Space Florida, The Conrad Foundation, Blue Origin, the KSC Visitor Complex, the Challenger Center, and more. After shuttle, she took a few detours but landed back in aerospace at Moon Express, and now is the Commercial Crew communications lead for United Launch Alliance. Julie would like to acknowledge the love and support from her family, her husband Scott, and three kids Scotty, Garrett and Taylor.



Past Kolcum Award Recipients

2000 Howard Benedict, Associated Press & Jack King, NASA

2001 Dan Billow, WESH TV & Hugh Harris, NASA

2002 Pat Duggins, WMFE FM; Lisa Malone, NASA & Lt. Col. Michael Rein, USAF 45th Space Wing

2003 Julie Andrews, Lockheed Martin & Bill Harwood, CBS News

2004 George Diller, NASA & Todd Halvorson, Florida Today

2005 Craig Covault, Aviation Week & STS-114 KSC Media Team

2006 Red Huber, The Orlando Sentinel & Debbie Land, Delaware North

2007 Babs Angel, USAF 45th Space Wing and Joe Carroll, WCPX/WKMG TV

2008 Leigh Holt, Brevard County Commission & Justin Ray, SpaceFlightNow

2009 Scott Harris, Channel 13 News & Jessica Rye, ATK

2010 John Glisch, Florida Today & Tracy Yates, USA

2011 Jim Banke, MILA Solutions & Cheryl Hurst, NASA

2012 Sid Champagne, WFTV TV & Emily Perry, USAF Missile Museum

2013 Andrea Farmer, Delaware North & John Zarella, CNN

2014 Irene Klotz, Reuters & Alysia K. Lee, Abacus at KSC

2015 Peter King of CBS Radio & Jim Lewis of Communications Concepts

2016 Michael Curie of NASA and Greg Pallone of NEWS 13

2017 Nick Thomas of Delaware North and the FL Today Shuttle Era Photo Team

2018 Marcia Dunn, Associated Press & John Janokaitis, Aerodyne

Blog Comments/Suggestions – please contact Jim Niemes, Secretary NSCFL, at Logical Innovations, Inc., jniemes@logical-i2.com